I am Olaf!

My name is Olaf. I’m 40 years old and was born in the Netherlands. I have been living in Sabah since 2000 where I first fell in love with the country and then met my wife Wana. We got married in 2001 and had our first child (Hakim) in Aug 2004 and our second (Aishah) in Nov 2005.

Bored working with computers, I decided to do something different in my life and I started tour-guiding in Sabah, after doing a 4 month tourist guide course in a local college in Kota Kinabalu.  In 2002 we bought land next to the river and together with Filipino workers we built our dream house in 5 months. I designed the house so that we could accommodate paying guests to cover the cost of living. I combine the B&B with freelance guided tours/expeditions etc.

Hobbies? I do have my own small boat and can go for a river cruise, sometimes I even take my family to one of the islands in front of KK (Kota Kinabalu). Cutting the grass is another thing which I really like to do each week but I will be happy if one of my team members would be big enough to help his dad :)!

iCloud Photos.lnk

I like to go out for dinner with my guests. Because everybody is asking me, why I live in Sabah, how did I met with Wana, etc. etc., I also ask them how my guests had met each other. Sometimes you get very nice stories, maybe I am going to write a book about it, so watch out, do not tell me too much!

I still remember that in the spring of 2004, I’ve got my first big booking for a family. After that the bookings kept on coming and since then it went very quick upwards. So many people have already stayed in our house and I hope that for the years to come, many tourists will visit Sabah and maybe those who are reading these lines can come and visit me and my team in Kota Kinabalu. Everybody is most welcome.

Best regards,

Olaf Teunissen